Mexican night

…all that’s missing is a margarita! 🙂

My husband requested this dinner, so I tried it out tonight… I’ve made similar things before, but they usually involved chicken somehow.  I’ve decided I don’t really like cold corn, but it turned out pretty well for what it was, I think!  Recipe from Sept 07 Everyday Food. 

Black-Bean Tostadas with Corn Relish

2 limes
2 scallions
1 10-oz. package frozen corn kernels
3 TBSP olive oil
coarse salt and ground pepper
1 jalapeno chile
1 pint grape tomatoes
8 oz. Monterey Jack cheese, not sliced
4 6-inch flour tortillas
1 can (15 oz) black beans
1 avocado
reduced-fat sour cream for serving (optional – I omitted this)
[Serves 4 – I halved the actual tortillas but made all the “topping” so we can eat it in various ways as left-overs]

1. Squeeze limes into a medium bowl. Thinly slice scallions, and add to bowl along with corn. Add 1 TBSP oil, and season with salt and pepper; toss to combine. Cover and refrigerate (if making ahead. I didn’t make ahead, so I actually microwaved the corn mixture for a minute and a half so it wasn’t frozen anymore).

2. Half jalapeno and remove ribs and seeds for less heat, if desired. Mince. Halve tomatoes. Combine in an airtight container, cover, and refrigerate (again, if making ahead).

3. Corasely grate cheese on a box grater; place into a resealable plastic bag, and refrigerate (if making ahead).

4. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Arrange tortillas on baking sheet; brush both sides with remaining 2 TBSP oil. Rinse and drain beans; sprinkle over tortillas. Top with tomatoes, jalapeno, and cheese. Bake until golden and crisp, about 10 minutes.

5. While tostadas are baking, pit and peel avocado; dice. Toss with corn mixtrue to combine. (I just put pieces of avocado on top of the finished tostadas…I didn’t want it to sit in my left-over relish because avocado gets a little funky as it sits, IMO.)

6. Top tostadas with corn relish, and, if desired, sour cream.

pict0102.jpg

Leave a Reply

