Hamburger Grape-Tomato Pizza

I had to put a hyphen in Grape-Tomato because the first time I said this out loud it really sounded like Grapes and Tomatoes, not Grape Tomatoes. 🙂

It’s a recipe from Everyday Food May 2008, and also marks my first experimentation with a pizza dough ball. I bought it at Wegman’s from their pizza shop, and they sold me a frozen one so I could keep it longer. I was a bit afraid, having heard lots of horror stories… but I have to say, the dough rose just enough, cooked the whole way through, and tasted like pizza dough should taste. Yay!

Hamburger Grape-Tomato Pizza
2 teaspoons vegetable oil, such as safflower
All-purpose flour, for work surface
1 pound frozen pizza dough, thawed
3/4 cup store-bought marinara sauce (I used store bought pizza sauce)
1 cup grated provolone cheese (4 ounces) (4 oz. seemed like A LOT, so I didn’t use that much)
1 cup grape or cherry tomatoes, halved (I used grape tomatoes)
1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced (optional)
1/4 pound ground beef chuck
Coarse salt and ground pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Rub a large rimless baking sheet (or a rimmed on, upside down) with oil. On a lightly floured work surface, use a rolling pin and your hands to roll and stretch dough into a 15×11 inch rectangle (if dough becomes to elastic to work with, let it rest a few minutes). Transfer to prepared sheet.

Spread sauce evenly over dough, leaving a 1-inch border all around. Top with provolone, tomatoes, and if desired, onion; scatter beef over top. Season with salt and pepper.

Bake until crust is golden, beef is cooked, and cheese is melted, about 20 min. Serve immediately. (We actually saved 1/2 of it for the next tday and reheated it in the oven. It was a bit dry the 2nd day, but just as yummy!)

Only problem: it WOULD NOT become a rectangle. HAHA! Anyone want to vote for what my pizza looks like? Maybe a state, or a country….? 😉

And one last picture, that I think looks kind of like a planet, or craters on the moon. (Yes, I know the thing that looks like the moon is my flash reflecting in the stove.) Perhaps I need a new hobby.

One response to “Hamburger Grape-Tomato Pizza

  1. I think it looks a little bit like Lucy’s head from the Peanuts Gang. =)

Leave a Reply

