Anise Tea Crescents

I have to be honest. I’m a lazy bum when it comes to figuring out new technology. I literally haven’t posted in my blog since spring because I got a new laptop, and the transition from Dell to Macbook was almost too much for me! Well, guess what? It turns out it’s actually about 10x easier to post from the Macbook. All I had to do was take a few minutes and figure it out. Who knew??

img_0185

These Anise Tea Crescents are from the December 08 Cooking Light. They have a cookie feature, and I’m planning on baking my way through as much of it as possible! I’m not a huge fan of licorice flavor, but the anise seed was subtle enough that I don’t mind them. Also, they are egg-free, which is useful for people like my husband’s Aunt who is allergic to egg. They were really yummy with a cup of tea. Enjoy!

img_0184

Anise Tea Crescents, from Cooking Light, December 2008

32 cookies (serving size: 2 cookies)

  • 6.75  ounces  all-purpose flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/4  cup  cornstarch
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1 1/4  cups  powdered sugar, divided
  • 5  tablespoons  butter, softened
  • 2  tablespoons  canola oil
  • 2  tablespoons  2% reduced-fat milk
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  vanilla extract
  • 1  teaspoon  aniseed, crushed

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, cornstarch, and salt in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk.

3. Beat 3/4 cup sugar, butter, and oil with a mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy. Add milk and vanilla; beat until well blended. Add flour mixture and aniseed; beat at low speed until blended. Chill 30 minutes. Shape dough into 32 (2-inch) logs; bend logs to form crescent shape. Arrange 16 crescents 1 inch apart on a baking sheet. Bake at 350° for 14 minutes or until edges are golden. Remove from oven; cool on pan 3 minutes. Repeat procedure with remaining 16 crescents.

4. Sift remaining 1/2 cup sugar into a medium bowl; toss warm cookies in sugar to coat. Cool completely on a wire rack.

img_0186

 

One response to “Anise Tea Crescents

  1. I love these cookies during the holidays! My friends always brings these over to share – thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

