New Year’s Eve Menu 2009

img00104

This year my husband and I have decided to stay in for New Year’s Eve and welcome in 2009 with his parents and 4 very dear friends. Each guest will take home a personalized wine glass (I used paint pens from Michael’s; wine glasses from Target.) My husband’s family is in the process of planting a vineyard, and everyone who is coming enjoys wine very much. We decided to go with a sort of tasting menu with French wine pairings (well, minus the prosecco in the cocktails!) 
Here’s to some of our 2009 resolutions: enjoy each other, enjoy family and friends, and enjoy good food and wine by entertaining more often in our home. Happy Near Year! 

Apricot Fizz (Prosecco based cocktail)
Spicy Cocktail Nuts

Fallen Goat Cheese Souffles on Wilted Spinach
Les Fontanelles Sauvignon Blanc (Southern France) 2007

Pork Tenderloin En Croute
Pear and Parsnip Puree
Chateau de France Rouge (Pessac-Leognan) 2003 

Grand Marnier Creme Brulee with Chocolate Ginger Shards
Chateau d’Arche Sauternes (Bordeaux) 2005 

For the midnight champagne toast:
Moet & Chandon Grand Vintage Rose 2000

4 responses to “New Year’s Eve Menu 2009

  1. That looks like a delicious way to welcome 2009! Can’t wait to see the blog updates – especially for that dessert! YUM!

  2. This menu looks so good. I wish I could be there. Wait!!! That’s my name on the glass. I will be there. Yay! I can’t wait to have the good food that my lovely wife always makes. Only problem is that it usually means more dishes for me to clean. I don’t really mind!

  3. Looks like a fabulous menu planned and I love the idea of doing a wine tasting as well! Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

