A 51 minute meal.

img_0337

Today I decided to try something new: I wanted to see how fast I could make an interesting, somewhat balanced dinner. Tonight my husband had rehearsal until 5:00, I was teaching lessons at home until 5:00, and we were both going to have to leave for a board meeting by 6:45. Although I know that’s plenty of time to whip up something for dinner (and eat it), on days like this I typically resort to a frozen pizza or even just snacking and then stopping for a bite to eat on the way home from the meeting (at about 9:00 pm).

Today’s solution: bite the bullet and just COOK. I figured if I didn’t finish in time it wouldn’t be the end of the world. As you can see, I started at 4:43. When I say I “started,” I mean I hadn’t done anything yet. This time includes preheating the oven, prepping all the veggies, etc., and also plating the food and setting the table! I really loved the combination of flavors. They reminded me of summer! I think it was the mint and lime.

img_0339

Spice-Rubbed Turkey Cutlets with Roasted Carrots and Minted Couscous
(adapted from Everyday Food Jan/Feb 2009); I made it to serve 2 *Note: original recipe calls for roasting turkey breasts with the carrots, but I wanted to speed up the process. I used cutlets instead.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound carrots, peeled and sliced into 2 inch lengths
  • 3 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled
  • 1-2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 pound turkey breast cutlets (very thinly sliced)
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinammon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup plain lowfat yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350. On a large rimmed baking sheet, toss carrots, garlic, and 1-2 teaspoons olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Roast 35 minutes, tossing occasionally.
  • Sprinkle turkey cutlets with cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon cumin. Season with salt and pepper. Spray a non-stick pan with cooking spray and heat to medium. Cook turkey cutlets until cooked through, a few minutes on each side.
  • In a small bowl, mix yogurt, lime juice, and 1/4 teaspoon cumin; season with salt and pepper. Serve on the side.

Minted Couscousย (again, from Everyday Food Jan/Feb 2009. This recipe is listed “as is.” It serves 4. I halved it to make 2 servings.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup couscous
  • coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup mint leaves, torn (*I did not use the full amount because I was afraid the mint would overpower. It turned out to be much better than I thought it would be! I’m glad I took a chance. I would add the full amount next time.)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Directions

  • In a small saucepan, bring 1 cup water to a boil. Remove from heat. Stir in couscous; season with salt and pepper. Cover and, off heat, let steam in the pan, 5 minutes.
  • Add scallions, mint, oil, and lime juice; fluff couscous with a fork.

img_0338

Granted, our board meeting was canceled because of bad weather, but I decided to use the opportunity to see if I really could make an interesting, healthy dinner on a busy weeknight. Added bonus: more time to update the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

img_0340

6 responses to “A 51 minute meal.

  1. Isn’t it great when a tasty meal takes so little time to whip up?

  2. This looks so good! I love lime.

  3. What a wonderful meal and healthy too! Great time too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Looks like a great meal, a very healthy one too. Good Job!

  5. nice job! I did kind of the same thing this morning while trying to get dinner ready to take with me to work. I love when things work out like that!

Leave a Reply

