Quick dinner take 2

img_0341

Well, kind of quick. Less than 1 hour anyway, which to me is pretty quick! 55 minutes, to be exact. 🙂 Actually, there were 2 main reasons this took longer than about 20 minutes: 1. I had to defrost the frozen shrimp, and 2. I decided to make Kasmati rice to with this diner, simply because we had it on hand and I love it!

img_0343

The original recipe that inspired this dish was from Everyday Food, Jan/Feb 2009 issue. I halved the recipe and then added shrimp, rice, scallions, and some soy sauce. Here’s the basic idea:

Steamed Snow Peas and Peppers with Shrimp over Rice
adapted from Everyday Food, Jan/Feb 09; this recipe serves 2

Ingredients

  • handful of snow peas (the amount you’d like for 2 people)
  • 1 orange bell pepper (or whatever color looks good at the store that day)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of freshly grated ginger
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper
  • cooked white rice (I think this would be good with brown rice too)
  • 1/2 pound shrimp (I used frozen because I had them leftover from another recipe; I’m sure fresh would be great too; for fresh, you’d probably have to adjust the cooking time a bit.)
  • scallions for garnish

Directions

  • Cook rice according to package directions (I used Kasmati, so I started this first because it takes 50 minutes. Yes, 50! 20 min. for the rice to soak in water, bring to boil, 20 minutes to simmer with lid on, and let sit 5-10 min. May seem like a long time, but I really really love it. A quick cooking rice would speed this recipe up drastically of course!)
  • Meanwhile, defrost shrimp in cold water if frozen. Devein if necessary, and remove tails. Sautee shrimp in a non-stick pan with cooking spray for a few minutes (until warmed for frozen, pre-cooked shrimp, or until cooked through, pink and opaque for fresh or uncooked frozen shrimp.)
  • Trim snow peas, and de-seed pepper. Cut pepper into strips. Put snow peas and pepper into a vegetable steamer above simmering water and steam for 4 minutes, or until tender but still crisp.
  • In a bowl, whisk together rice vinegar, vegetable oil, and ginger. Season with salt and pepper. 
  • When shrimp and veggies are done, combine in one pan and toss with above vinaigrette. Serve over cooked rice. If desired, sprinkle some scallions on top for garnish, and add a splash of soy sauce (I used low-sodium soy sauce.)

img_0342

Had to include this photo because my camera started to steam up while I was trying to get it to focus, haha.  Maybe we can say the haze adds to the ambience of the photo? 😉

img_03451

9 responses to “Quick dinner take 2

  1. Came to you via the foodie blogroll today. Nice blog — like the clock idea.

  2. Sounds delicious … quick and simple … haze incuded!

    Denise
    http://WineFoodPairing.blogspot.com

  3. Wow fantastic ideas for my next lunch with my friends.

    Bye from Italy by
    Cakeitaly.com – A taste of Italian sweets

    If you want you cant add your blog in my blogroll All your recipes

  4. I am not a big fan of veggies but your dish looks very colorful and delish!

  5. Looks great! My husband would love this. He is shrimp obsessed. 🙂

  6. Looks delicious and I love the clock pics!

  7. Looks good. I love that you took a pic of the clock. How fun. I found you on the Foodie Blog Roll. I just joined up. Finding lots of great blogs.

  8. Mmm – I love shrimp and rice together – great job and looks great!

  9. Anything that’s quick and involves shrimp is sure to be a hit around here. R can’t get enough shrimp, ever. Like, ever.

Leave a Reply

